Which Pakistan President Signed Tashkent Agreement

The Tashkent Agreement is an important historical document that symbolizes the end of the 1965 war between India and Pakistan. The agreement was signed in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, on January 10, 1966, by the then Indian Prime Minister, Lal Bahadur Shastri, and the President of Pakistan, Ayub Khan.

However, the question that arises is: which Pakistan President signed the Tashkent Agreement? The answer is Ayub Khan. He was the second President of Pakistan and served in this position from 1958 to 1969.

Ayub Khan played a crucial role in the Pakistan-India war of 1965, which began over the dispute of Jammu and Kashmir. The two countries had engaged in an intense military conflict that lasted for two weeks, and it was only until the intervention of the Soviet Union that both nations agreed to come to the negotiating table.

The Tashkent Agreement was significant because it brought an end to the hostilities and helped establish a ceasefire. The agreement also established a line of control that divided the territory of Jammu and Kashmir between India and Pakistan.

It`s important to note that the Tashkent Agreement was not well-received in Pakistan. Many saw it as a diplomatic failure, and Ayub Khan`s popularity declined. The agreement also put a strain on India-Pakistan relations, as both countries continued to engage in border skirmishes following the agreement.

In conclusion, the Tashkent Agreement was signed by Ayub Khan, the second President of Pakistan. Although it brought an end to the 1965 war, it was met with mixed reactions, and its impact on India-Pakistan relations cannot be ignored.

Scroll to Top